Bodycam Footage Demand Is Through The Roof

13 February 2024

Honorable Stone County Chancery Clerk Samuel Tom Smith

Office of the Stone County Chancery Clerk

323 East Cavers Avenue

PO Drawer 7

Wiggins, MS  39577

Honorable Chancery Clerk Smith:

Under the Mississippi Public Records Act § 25-61-1 et seq., I am requesting an opportunity to inspect or obtain copies of public records that describe an incident between 01/20/24 and 01/26/24.  Travis Heinze was the subject of a call to local police.  He was described as a suspicious person acting in a suspicious manner or the car he was driving was suspicious.  Regarding the incident Mr. Heinze was involved in, I would like a copy of all written reports, all communications, and all bodycam footage related to the incident.  I would also like a copy of all public records requests concerning the incident.  Lastly, I would like a copy of any communications between any member of the Stone County Sheriff’s Department handled internally, or any communication between any member of the Department and anyone else in law enforcement or any other related agency.  As always, electronic copies are preferable.

If there are any fees for searching or copying these records, please inform me if the cost will exceed $100.  The law requires that you respond to this request within between one and 16 days, depending upon your department’s established policy.  If you expect a significant delay in responding to this request, please contact me with information about when I might expect copies or the ability to inspect the requested records.

If you deny any or all of this request, please cite each specific exemption you feel justifies the refusal to release the information and notify me of the appeal procedures available to me under the law.

Thank you for considering my request.

Robert T. Oliveira

Sebastian, Florida

401-391-6402

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑