I Wish Somebody Had Told Me

This letter, for obvious reasons, cannot be sent out until the West Warwick matter has been completed. However, you get the idea.

22 August 2021

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Warwick, RI  02886

Dear xxxxxxxxxxxxx:

I hope this message finds you well.  Even during the height of the pandemic, the Noel Judicial Complex has shown that safety measures can be implemented and followed without interruption. I can think of a few places where this is not true.

Last Wednesday, I was in Courtroom 2B awaiting a pretrial hearing and possible ruling on a Motion to Dismiss.  Please look up West Warwick v. Oliveira if that interests you.  While I was waiting for my case, a young lady’s name was called.  The judge was told she had “an emotional breakdown” following a stint in rehab and would not be available for court that day.

Because I prepare for court proceedings a particular way, I had no reaction at the time.  Later, as I took an inventory of my day, I was almost in tears.  I will be celebrating 19 years of continuous sobriety next month from crack and alcohol.  I have helped hundreds of men and women of all ages find their way to the treatment they need.  I have also assisted many with the transition from Rehab to regular life.  Because I suffer from Bipolar Disorder, I speak the language of those going through mental illness.

I try to spend at least one weekend a month working with the unhoused around Kennedy Plaza.  I figure if I can help someone “down a dark alley” I should be able to help them while standing outside a courtroom.  I know I can do it in a City Council chamber.

When I lived in Utica, NY there were a number of Schizophrenics who would attend Utica Common Council meetings.  Sometimes without engaging in substance before going; sometimes after engaging in substance.  I was friendly with the local Utica Police Officers who “kept order” at the meetings.  Every so often if one of the mentally ill or addicted folks started to get out of control, I would ask if I could walk them outside instead of the police doing so.  That way I could tell the affected person my story and see if they just needed a little help or if things were about to go South.

If it ever is the case that someone is having an addiction/mental health crisis, please do not be afraid to instruct security personnel to ask if I can talk to said person.  Everyone in the addiction and mental communities prefers a fellow addicted person do the talking first.  If the person is “too far gone”, we can reach out to security personnel at that time.  We are headed to an election year so I am guessing I will be in the building a lot serving in the observer, witness, and many even defendant roles.  No matter my role on that day, I am a person in recovery first.

Providence is learning the hard way that you cannot arrest yourself out of an addiction problem.  Until we learn how to handle addiction in the streets everywhere, addicted folks are going to be in courts each day.  For those of us with any sobriety at all, they are easy to spot.  I can only hope to lessen some of their suffering.  That allows me to make payments on the gift of sobriety I was given.

Thank you for your time and consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have.

Sincerely,

Robert T. Oliveira

Warwick, RI

401-391-6402

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑