Did I Do The Right Thing??

13 September 2020

Postmaster Dino Petrangelo  

United States Postal Service

3205 Post Road

Warwick, RI  02886

Dear Postmaster Petrangelo:

I hope this message finds you well.  Sadly, the person pretending to be the boss at the top of your organization has brought dishonor on the Postal Service.  Please understand that we do not blame you for that.

I had a question about something that recently happened.  I just wanted to do the right thing.  A couple of weeks ago while getting my miles in on Greenwich Avenue, yes – run 8 miles 10 years ago has turned into run 1 and walk 4 now, I stumbled across a piece of mail.  It was intact and still in the envelope.  I figured it fell out of a carrier’s big, based on the number of pieces delivered everyday that has to happen sooner or later, or somehow get displaced from someone’s mailbox.

It just so happened that the address was “along the way”.  I took the mail to the person’s house, it was “governmental” in nature so I thought it important, and rang the bell.  I’m guessing they weren’t home or my Army COVID-19 camouflage mask caused them not to answer.  I left the mail in the mailbox by the driveway.

Was that the right thing to do??  Should I handle it another way if the situation ever arises again??  If that is the right way to handle it, do I need to report it anywhere??

Sorry to waste your time with this but your boss makes questions like this necessary.  There was a time we could trust the Post Office to be run in a “do what makes sense” manner.  That is no longer the case.

Someday, Donald Trump will go away and so will his Postmaster.  No one will be bothering you about missing sorting machines or mail ballot procedures.  We can only hope that day gets here sooner rather than later.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Robert T. Oliveira

Warwick, RI

315-864-1229

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑