Did Pat Serpa Ask For Permission??

27 August 2020

Honorable West Warwick Town Clerk Marianne Kelly, CMC

Office of the West Warwick Town Clerk

1170 Main Street

West Warwick, RI  02893

Honorable Clerk Kelly:

Under the Rhode Island Access to Public Records Act, §38-2-1 et seq., I am requesting an opportunity to inspect or obtain copies of public records that deal with requests to use or “rent” public property.

  1. I would like a copy all communications between Rep. Pat Serpa and West Warwick Fire Chief Jeffrey Varone over the past 6 months whether they be written or electronic.  I am especially interested in communications where State Representative Pat Serpa requests permission to use West Warwick property, specifically a fire station and fire equipment, for a video shoot.
  2. If a request of this nature is contained in those communications, I would like to see a copy of any communication sent out by Fire Chief Varone where he seeks guidance on pricing.
  3. I would like a copy of any payment instrument used by Representative Pat Serpa used to complete said transaction.  If paid electronically, I would like to see a copy of the “email receipt”.  
  4. If an agreement exists, I would like to see a copy of the agreement between State Representative Pat Serpa and the town of West Warwick.  I would like a copy of the minutes reflecting that the agreement was accepted.  If not voted on at a Town Council meeting, I would like to see a coy of the “validation of the agreement” by the West Warwick Town Manager.

If there are any fees for searching or copying these records, please inform me if the cost will exceed $200.  The Rhode Island Access to Public Records Act requires a response time within seven business days.  If access to the records I am requesting will take longer than this amount of time, please contact me with information about when I might expect copies or the ability to inspect the requested records.

If you deny any or all of this request, please cite each specific exemption you feel justifies the refusal to release the information and notify me of the appeal procedures available to me under the law.

Thank you for considering my request.

Sincerely,

Robert T. Oliveira

315-864-1229

Warwick, RI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑